Welcome to CEC in West Asia and the Middle East


CEC National Activators

Jordan – Mervat Batarseh, mervtbat@rscn.org.jo
Pakistan — Attia Ayub Qutub, attia.qutub@gmail.com   

Satellite image of Risalpur, Pakistan, after floods, 5 August 2010

View from Pakistan by CEC Regional Vice-Chair 2009-2012

“The enormity of the disaster which affects millions of people should be a test even for well-established governance and disaster management systems,” writes Javed Jabbar, IUCN CEC Regional Vice-Chair for West Asia and the Middle East.

A note from the Vice-Chair 2009 - 2012

As Regional Vice Chair for West Asia, my work in the new few months of 2010 will be to:

  1.  Complete the process of consulting with all Pakistan-based CEC members on the way forward, a process initiated only partially in 2009 but expanded to cover all Islamabad-based members on 3rd April 2010;
  2. Initiate and complete the process of consulting with all other CEC members in West Asia, including briefing them on the conclusions at the CEC Steering Committee Meeting in Aviemore;
  3. Identify National Activators and obtain the Chair's approval/appointment of the same;
  4. Set targets for modest, relevant expansion of CEC membership in the region;
  5. Encourage members to determine their respective inputs for both pre-Congress 2010 processes and Congress 2010 events;
  6. Request/hope for, each National Activator to formulate broad action plans for next 24 months;
  7. Seek funding support for West Asian CEC work, while attempting to dove-tail CEC meetings/work with a planned Regional Conservation Forum set for Kuwait late 2010.


Hoper Glacier, flowing out of the Central Karakoram National Park is one of a number of high mountain glacial systems which are crucial to the water needs of communities living in the valleys around the park.  .  The management plan for this park needs to consider actions to secure sustainable valley irrigation and domestic water supply in the face of global climate change.
Related IUCN links
In this region

Islamic Republic of Iran
Saudi Arabia
Syrian Arab Republic
United Arab Emirates