Where we work

Sri Lanka

The Puttalam lagoon is situated near the township of Puttalam, located in the North Western Province of Sri Lanka. There are eight islands in the lagoon, with Battalangunduwa as the largest.

This lagoon - with a water surface area of about 32,750ha - is the largest lagoon in Sri Lanka. It includes the Kala oya estuary (one of Sri Lanka’s largest mangrove habitats), the Mee oya estuary, the Dutch Bay and Portugal Bay. The Kalpitiya area still has large extents of mangrove vegetation while many surrounding islands also have mangroves.


The Ranong and Phang Nga Provinces are located in the Nothern region of Thailand along the Andaman coast area. The target area that lies within these two provinces spans approximately 130km and encompasses the Kuraburi and Kapoe watersheds. The region is part of the Tenasserim-South Thailand Semi-Evergreen Rain Forests eco-region (as defined by WWF). This eco-region includes the mountainous, semi-evergreen rain forests of the southern portion of the Tenasserim Range, which separates Thailand and Myanmar, and the numerous small ranges within peninsular Thailand. Also included within the eco-region are the extensive lowland plains that lie between the peninsular mountains. It encompasses a wide range of inter connected habitats that include undisturbed montane forests, dry forests, moist evergreen forest, beach forest, mangrove forests, sea-grass beds, and coral reefs. The region is characterized by rapid changes in habitats over relatively short distances. Distances from undisturbed montane ecosystems to sea-grass ecosystems can be as little as 15km, reflecting a 'reef to ridge' ecosystem.

Read more


Project documents
Photo gallery
IUCN MFF Initiative