IUCN Members in Oceania

IUCN has a total of 57 Members in the Oceania region, with 14 countries and territories represented.

This total includes 8 State Members, 13 government agencies, 33 national non-government organizations, 2 international non-government organizations, and 1 affiliate Member.

Within the region:

  • Australia has 30 Members.
  • New Zealand has 9 Members.
  • The Pacific Islands have 18 Members, spread across Cook Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga and Vanuatu.

Who can become a Member?

Membership to IUCN is open to States, Government agencies, Political or Economic integration organisations, and national and international non-governmental organisations.

An organisation applying for membership to the Union must have as one of its central purposes the achievement of IUCN’s mission and must show a substantial record of activity in the conservation of nature and natural resources.

How to become a Member:

The IUCN Member Application Form and Membership Information Pack describing the benefits of becoming an IUCN member and further information on the various IUCN membership categories and dues are available from the IUCN Regional Office for Oceania.

Please contact Ms Ruci Botei, Membership Focal Point for Oceania, for any enquiries relating to IUCN membership in the Oceania region.

Alternatively, click here for all the necessary information to guide you through the membership application process.