IUCN

     

Marine Protected Area Contacts


WCPA Marine Staff

WCPA Marine Vice Chair

Prof Dan Laffoley
c/o Ocean Innovations Ltd
45 Caverstede Road
Peterborough PE4 6EX
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 7702 253031
Email danlaffoley@btinternet.com

WCPA Marine Regional Coordinators

1. Antarctica
Susie Grant
British Antarctic Survey
High Cross
Madingley Road
Cambridge CB3 0ET
United Kingdom
Tel:+4412232214000
Email: susie.grant@dsl.pipex.com 

2. Arctic
Doug Yurick
Chief, Marine Program Unit Parks Canada 25 Eddy Street, 4th Floor, Hull, Quebec K1A 0M5, Canada
Tel: +18199974910 
Email: Doug.Yurick@pc.gc.ca

3. Mediterranean & Black Seas
Giuseppe Notarbartolo di Sciara

Tethys Research Institute
via Benedetto Marcello 43,
20124 Milano, Italy
Tel: +39 335 6376035
Fax: +39 02 700518468
Email: giuseppe@disciara.net
3. Mediterranean & Black Seas
Valentina Todorova

Marine Biology and Ecology Department
Institute of Oceanology
Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
P.O.Box 152
Varna 9000
Bulgaria
Tel: +359 52 370 486
Email: vtodorova@io-bas.bg
4. Northwest Atlantic
Jennifer Smith

WWF-Canada Atlantic Regional Office
Manager, GIS/Conservation Planning
WWF-Canada Atlantic Regional Office
5251 Duke Street, Suite 1202
Halifax, NS
Canada B3J 1P3
Tel: +1 902 482 1105
Email: jsmith@wwfcanada.org

 

5. Northeast Atlantic
Jen Ashworth

Specialist – Marine Protected Areas
Natural England
Marine, Coastal and Freshwater Ecosystems Science and Evidence Team
Northminster House
Peterborough PE1 1UA
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 (0) 1733 455 240
Email: jen.ashworth@naturalengland.org.uk

6. Baltic
Åsa Andersson

Programme Officer
Marine Protected Areas
WWF-Sweden
Ulriksdals Slott,
S-170 81 Solna,
Sweden
Tel: +46 8 624 74 17 +46 8 624 74 17
E-mail: asa.andersson@wwf.se
7. Wider Caribbean
Patricia Lamelas

Directora Ejecutiva
CEBSE, Inc.
Ave. La Marina, Tiro al Blanco
Samana,
Republica Dominicana
Tel: +809-538-2042
Email: lamelasp@gmail.com
7. Wider Caribbean
Jean Wiener
Director
Fondation Pour la Protection de la Biodiversité Marine (FoProBiM) Haiti
(mail) 6011 Henning St.
Bethesda, MD 20817-3463
USA
Tel: +1 301 365 3383
Email:jeanw@foprobim.org

 
7. Wider Caribbean
Tamica Rahming
Director of Parks & Science
Bahamas National Trust
PO Box N-4105
Nassau, Bahamas
Tel: +1 242 393 1317
Email: trahming@BNT.bs
8. West Africa
Charlotte Karibuhoye

MPA programme Coordinator
FIBA/ PRCM
c/o UICN
Avenue Bourguiba x Castors
Dakar
Sénégal
Tel: +221 33 869 02 88
Fax: +221 33 824 92 46
Email: Charlotte.Karibuhoye@iucn.org
9. South Atlantic
Mabel Augustowski

Biological Oceanographer, MSc.

Rua Benjamin Constant 181 ap.23 - Embaré 11040-141  - 

Santos, SP  -  Brazil

Telephone: +55.13.81271944 and +55.12.81211616

e-mail :  mabelaug2@gmail.com and mabelaug@uol.com.br 

9. South Atlantic
Alejandro Fallabrino
Karumbé
D. Murillo 6334 - 11500
Montevideo
Uruguay
Tel: +598 99917811
Email: afalla7@gmail.com

 
10. Central Indian Ocean
Aarthi Sridhar
Senior Research Associate
Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment
No. 659, 5th A Main,
Hebbal,
Bangalore 560024
Pakistan
Tel: +91-80 - 65356130
Email: aarthisridhar@yahoo.co.uk
11. Arabian Sea
Dr. Mohammed. M. A. Kotb

Coordinator of Biodiversity & MPA's Programme
PERSGA
P. O. Box 53662
Jeddah 21583
Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
Tel: +966 2 6573224 Ext. 249
Email: mohammed.kotb@persga.org 

 

12. East Africa

To be appointed

13. East Asian Sea
Moi Khim Tan

Manager,
Database (ReefBase Project)
The WorldFish Center
Jalan Batu Maung, Batu Maung,
11960 Bayan Lepas,
Penang,
Malaysia
Tel : +604 6261606
Email: m.tan@cgiar.org
14. North and South Pacific
Dr. Hugh Govan

NCT member,
Locally Managed Marine Area Network
PO Box S-37,
Superfresh
Suva,
Fiji Islands
14. North and South Pacific
Kathy Walls
Director,
Wildlife Conservation Society – South Pacific Programme
11 Ma’afu St,
Suva,
Fiji Islands
Tel: +(679) 331 5174
Email: kwalls@wcs.org
14. North and South Pacific
Willy Kostka
Executive Director
Micronesia Conservation Trust
PO Box 2177 Kolonia
Pohnpei, FSM 96941
Federated States of Micronesia
Tel: +691-320-5670
Email: mctdirector@mail.fm
14. North and South Pacific
Douglas Kusto
c/o Micronesia Conservation Trust
PO Box 2177 Kolonia
Pohnpei, FSM 96941
Federated States of Micronesia
Email: mctgrants@mail.fm

 
14. North and South Pacific
Francois Devinck
14, rue du RP de Fenoyl
98800 - Nouméa
New Caledonia
Tel: +687 27 11 38
Email:francois.devinck@mls.nc
14. North and South Pacific
John Parks
NOAA Pacific Services Center
737 Bishop Street, Suite 2250
Honolulu, HI 96813-3213
USA
Tel: +1 (808) 532-3972
Fax: +1 (808) 532-3224
Email: john.parks@noaa.gov
 
14. North and South Pacific
Alifereti Tawake
Project Manager
LMMA (Asst), Institute of Applied Science
Faculty of Science and Technology
University of the South Pacific
P.O Box 1168
Suva
FIJI
Tel: +679-3232974
Fax: +679-323 1534
Email: tawake_a@usp.ac.fj
15. Northeast Pacific
Kate Willis Ladell

Marine Planning and Protected Areas Specialist
Oceans, Habitat and Enhancement Branch
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
200-401 Burrard Street
Vancouver,
Canada V6C 3S4
Tel: +1 604 666-1089
Email: Kate.Ladell@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
 

15. Northeast Pacific
Juan Bezaury Creel
Director de Política Ambiental
The Nature Conservancy
Manuel M. Ponce @322, Segundo Piso
Rio San Angel 9
Colonia Guadalupe Inn
Mexico
Mexico DF 01020
Mexico
Tel:  +525556611153 Ext. 106 ,
Fax: +52 (55) 56-61-21-75
Email: jbezaury@tnc.org

 

16. Northwest Pacific
Kohei Hibino

Research Scientist
Japan Wildlife Research Center
3-10-10 Shitaya Taito-ku
Tokyo 110-8676
Japan
Tel: +81 3 5824 0967
Fax: +81 3 5824 0968
Email: khibino@jwc.or.jp
16. Northwest Pacific
Albert Choi
Professor
School of Applied Marine Science
Cheju National University
66 Jejudaehakno
Jeju 690-756
Korea
Tel: +82-64-754-3422
Fax: +82-64-756-3493
Email: skchoi@cheju.ac.kr
17. Southeast Pacific
Carlos Gaymer

Profesor Asociado
Departamento de Biologia Marina
Centro de Estudios Avanzados en Zonas Aridas (CEAZA)
Universidad Catolica del Norte
Larrondo 1281, Casilla 117
Coquimbo,
Chile
Tel: +56-51-209969
Email: cgaymer@ucn.cl
 
17. Southeast Pacific
Maximiliano Bello
Oceana
Avenida General Bustamante No 24,
Departamento 2C
750-0776 Providencia, Santiago
Republic of Chile
Tel: + 56-2-795-7140
Fax: +56-2-795-7144
Email: mbello@oceana.org
17. Southeast Pacific
Eliecer Cruz
Director
Galapagos Ecoregion World Wildlife Fund
Ecuador
Tel: + 593-5-2526053
Email: eliecer.cruz@wwfgalapagos.org
 
18. Australia/New Zealand
Jon Day

Director,
Outlook Report Taskforce
Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
P.O. Box 1379
Townsville, QLD 4810
Australia
Tel: +61 (0)7 4750 0803
Fax: +61 (0)7 4772 6093
Email: j.day@gbrmpa.gov.au

The ecosystem-based regional framework used by the WCPA – Marine Plan of Action

The ecosystem-based regional framework used by the WCPA – Marine Plan of Action

Photo: (from: Kelleher, G., Bleakley, C., and Wells, S., (eds.), 1995. A global representative system of marine protected areas. Volume 1. Antarctic, Arctic, Mediterranean, Northwest Atlantic, Northeast Atlantic and Baltic. Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority, The World Bank, The World Conservation Union (IUCN).)

Senior Advisory Group

Name Region Affiliation
Rili Djohani SE Asia Country Director,
The Nature Conservancy
Sylvia Earle North America Executive Director, Conservation International
Bill Eichbaum Marine public policy and governance Vice President – Marine Portfolio, WWF - US
Julius Francis East Africa Executive Director, Western Indian Ocean Marine Sciences Association (WIOMSA)
Nicole Glineur Global Program Manager Biodiversity & Private Sector, The Global Environment Facility
Henning von Nordheim Europe Scientific Director,  Federal Agency for Nature Conservation
Graeme Kelleher Oceanea & High Seas Oceanea & High Seas Senior Advisor; Chairman, WCPA/IUCN High Seas Task Force
Dan Laffoley Global WCPA – Marine Vice Chair & Chair of Senior Advisory Group
Jane Lubchenco Pacific North America Wayne & Gladys Valley Professor of Marine Biology, Oregon State University
Rolph Payet Small Island States Chairman, Seychelles Centre for Marine Research and Technology - Marine Parks Authority (SCMRT-MPA)
Sr. Jaime Rovira South America Member of the National Environmental Commission of Chile, specialist in nature resources conservation
Rodney V. Salm Western Indo-Pacific Director, Marine Conservation, The Nature Conservancy
Sebastian Troeng
 
Global Director, Regional Marine Strategies, Conservation International.
Alan T. White Global Senior Scientist, Global Marine Initiative, The Nature Conservancy