Nepal is divided into three regions: the Himalayas in the north, the hills in the mid where it consists of Mahabharat range and the Churia Hills, and the Terai in the south. Elevations are the highest point is the Mt. Everest (8848 m) in the north and the lowest 70 meters above sea level in the south. The temperature varies from -40 degrees Celcius in the north to 40 degrees in the Terai during June to August.