IUCN currently has 96 members spread across Eastern and Southern Africa. The region has over 1,200 experts as members of the six IUCN Commissions.

Through the “One-Programme” approach, IUCN offers the unique opportunity for IUCN Members, Commissions Members and Secretariat staff to work together using their collective strength to address the environment and development issues pertaining to the region.

Given its region-wide membership, IUCN is building links between countries in the region and more broadly in Africa through experience sharing, convening multi-stakeholder platforms for consensus building and facilitation of transboundary processes.

Members organize themselves into national and regional Committees and currently ESARO has the IUCN Regional Committee of Eastern and Southern Africa; and active National Committees in Botswana, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe


IUCN has 96 Members in the Eastern and Southern African region spread across 19 countries. The region has 24 countries from the Horn of Africa to the Cape, including the Western Indian Ocean Islands. IUCN in Eastern and Southern Africa has 12 State Members, 11 Government Agency Members, 6 International NGO Members, 65 NGO Members and 2 Affiliate Members.

For a complete list of IUCN members in Eastern and Southern Africa, click here

To become a member, click here