Mammals

African elephant

African Elephant Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Holly T. Dublin
Contact: Diane Skinner; 
Diane.Skinner@iucn.org +254 20 890506

Red List Authority Coordinator:
Ms Diane Skinner
Contact: Diane.Skinner@iucn.org

Newsletter:
Pachyderm
Mailing List: AfESG Listserv
Publications: 
African Elephant Status Report 2007
African Elephant Status Report 2002

Profile:
Download here
Website:
IUCN/SSC African Elephant Specialist Group

African rhino

African Rhino Specialist Group

Chair: Mike Knight
Contact: mknight@nmmu.ac.za  

Deputy Chair: Benson Okita Ouma
Contact: bokita@kws.go.ke

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr The Hon. Richard Emslie
Contact: emslieafrsg@telkomsa.net

Newsletter:
Pachyderm
Publications:
Guidelines for the in situ re-introduction and translocation of African and Asian rhinoceros
African Rhino: Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan

Profile: Download here
Website: African Rhino Specialist Group

Elephant shrew

Afrotheria Specialist Group (including aardvarks, hyrax, golden-moles, tenrecs and elephant-shrews or sengis)

Chair: Dr Galen B. Rathbun
Contact: +1 805 927 3059, grathbun@calacademy.org

Red List Authority Coordinator:
Andrew Taylor
Contact: taylor.wa@gmail.com

Newsletter:
Afrotherian Conservation
Mailing List: ASG Listserv
Publications:
African Insectivora and Elephant-Shrews: An Action Plan for their Conservation
Profile: Download here
Website: IUCN/SSC Afrotheria Specialist Group

Sloth

Anteater, Sloth and Armadillo Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Mariella Superina
Contact: Dr Mariella Superina, +54 261 524 4160, mariella@superina.ch

Flávia Miranda, flavia@tamandua.org

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr Agustin Abba
Contact: abbaam@yahoo.com.ar

Newsletter:
Edentata
Profile: Download here
Website: IUCN/SSC Anteaters, sloths and armadillos Specialist Group

Asian elephants

Asian Elephant Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Dr Simon Hedges and Mr Ajay Desai
Contact: Dr Simon Hedges, +44 56032 04998
shedges@wcs.org  or simonhedges_wcs@yahoo.co.uk 
Mr Ajay Desai, +91 984 563 5840, ajayadesai.1@gmail.com

Red List Authority Coordinator:
Dr Simon Hedges
Contact: shedges@wcs.org  or simonhedges_wcs@yahoo.co.uk 

Newsletter:
GAJAH
Publications: The Asian Elephant: An Action Plan for its Conservation
Profile: Download here
Website: IUCN/SSC Asian Elephant Specialist Group

Asian Wild Cattle

Asian Wild Cattle Specialist Group

Tasmanian Devil

Australasian Marsupial and Monotreme Specialist Group

Chair: Professor Chris Johnson, Professor of Wildlife Conservation & ARC Australian Professorial Fellow, University of Tasmania
Contact:  c.n.johnson@utas.edu.au

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr Clare Hawkins
Contact: Clare.Hawkins@dpipwe.tas.gov.au

Profile: Download here

Bats hiding out in an opening heliconia leaf. Puntarenas Province, Costa Rica.

Bat Specialist Group

Co-chairs: Professor Paul A. Racey and Dr Rodrigo A. Medellin
Contact: Prof. Paul A Racey, +44 1224 272 858, p.racey@abdn.ac.uk
Dr Rodrigo Medellin, +52 55 5622 9042, medellin@miranda.ecologia.unam.mx   

Bat Red List Authority Coordinator (Old World):
Daniel Hargreaves daniel@batdan.co.uk
Bat Red List Authority Coordinator (New World): Sergio Solari sergiotys@gmail.com

Publication:
Microchiropteran Bats: Global Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan
Profile: Download here
Website: IUCN SSC Bat Specialist Group

Himalayan black bear

Bear Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Dr David L. Garshelis and Mr Robert Steinmetz
Contact:
Dr David L. Garshelis; +1 218 327 4146, dave.garshelis@dnr.state.mn.us  
Mr Robert Steinmetz; roberts@wwfgreatermekong.org

Red List Authority Coordinator:
Dr Bruce McLellan
Contact: bruce.mclellan@gov.bc.ca


Publication:
Bears: An Action Plan for their Conservation
Profile: Download here
Website: IUCN SSC Bear Specialist Group

Bison

Bison Specialist Group

Co-Chairs:  Mr Keith Aune (North America) and Dr Wanda Olech (Europe)
Contact
Mr Keith Aune; kaune@wcs.org
Dr Wanda Olech; +48 (22) 593 6578, wanda_olech@sggw.pl

Red List Authority Coordinators:
Dr Cormack Gates (American Bison), Dr Wanda Olech (European Bison)
Contact: ccgates@nucleus.comwanda_olech@sggw.pl

Publication:
European Bison: Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan
Profile: Download here
Subgroup website: European Bison

Big horn sheep

Caprinae Specialist Group (wild sheep and goats)

Chair: Prof. Marco Festa-Bianchet
Contact: +1 819 821 8000 ext. 2061, m.festa@usherbrooke.ca

Red List Authority Coordinator:
Dr Richard Harris
Contact: rharris@montana.com

Publication:

Wild Sheep and Goats and their Relatives. Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan for Caprinae
Newsletter: Caprinae News
Profile: Download here
Website: IUCN/SSC Caprinae Specialist Group

Persian leopard

Cat Specialist Group (wild cats)

Chair: Dr Christine Breitenmoser and Dr Urs Max Breitenmoser
Contact:
Dr Christine Breitenmoser, +41 31 951 90 20, ch.breitenmoser@kora.ch
Dr Urs Max Breitenmoser, +41 31 951 90 20, urs.breitenmoser@vetsuisse.unibe.ch


Red List Authority Coordinator:
Ms Kristin Nowell
Contact: cat@felidae.org


Publication
:
The Wild Cats: Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan
Newsletter: Cat News
Profile: Download now
Website: IUCN/SSC Cat Specialist Group

Scottish deer

Deer Specialist Group

Co-chairs: Dr Susana Gonzalez and Dr William J. McShea
Contact: Dr Susana Gonzalez: +598 2 486 1417, sugonza9@yahoo.com; iconservacionneotropical@gmail.com
Dr William J. McShea: +1 (540) 635 6563, McSheaW@si.edu  

Red List Authority Coordinator: 
Sarah Brook (Old World); Dr Eveline Zanneti (New World)
Contact: sarahmbrook@gmail.com; eveline_zanetti@yahoo.com.br

Publication:
Deer: An Action Plan for their Conservation
Newsletter: Deer Specialist Group News
Mailing List: DSG Listserv
Profile: Download here
Website: IUCN/SSC Deer Specialist Group

Zebras

Equid Specialist Group (horses, asses and zebras)

Chair: Dr Patricia Moehlman
Contact: +255 27 250 7504, tan.guides@habari.co.tz

Red List Authority Coordinator:
Sarah King
Contact: king_srb@yahoo.com

Newsletter:
Equid Specialist Group Newsletter
Publication:
Zebras, Asses, and Horses: An Action Plan for the Conservation of Wild Equids
Profile: Download here
Website: IUCN SSC Equid Specialist Group

A close up of a giraffe in Lake Manyara National Park, Tanazania

Giraffe and Okapi Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Dr Noelle Kumpel and Dr Julian Fennessy
Contact: Noelle.kumpel@zsl.org and Julian@giraffeconservation.org 

Red List Authority Coordinator: David Mallon
Contact: d.mallon@zoo.co.uk

Newsletter: Giraffa
 

Hippo

Hippo Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Rebecca Lewison
Contact: +1 619 594 8287, rlewison@mail.sdsu.edu

Pygmy Hippo Subgroup Chair: Chris Ransom
Contact: +44 (0)20 7449 6442, chris.ransom@zsl.org

Red List Authority Coordinator:
 Chris Ransom
Contact: chris.ransom@zsl.org

Publications:
Conservation Strategy for Pygmy Hippopotamus - English
Stratégie de Conservation de l’Hippopotame Pygmée
Pigs, Peccaries, and Hippos: Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan
Newsletter: Suiform Soundings; Hippo SG Newsletter
Mailing list: OSG Listserv
Profile: Download here
Website: IUCN SSC Hippo Specialist Group 

Hyaena

Hyaena Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Kay Holekamp
Contact: +1 517 432 3691, holekamp@msu.edu

Red List Authority Coordinator:
Mrs Stephanie Dloniak
Contact: smdloniak@gmail.com

Newsletter: Hyaena Specialist Group Newsletter
Publication: Hyaenas: An Action Plan for their Conservation
Profile: Download here
Website: IUCN/SSC Hyaena Specialist Group

European Rabbit (Oryctolagus cuniculus) 2008 IUCN Red List status: Near Threatened

Lagomorph Specialist Group (rabbits, pikas and hares)

Chair: Dr Andrew T. Smith
Contact: +1 480 965 4024, a.smith@asu.edu

Red List Authority Coordinator:
Patrick Kelly
Contact: pkelly@esrp.csustan.edu

Publication:
Rabbits, Hares, and Pikas: Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan
Mailing list: LSG Listserv
Profile: Download here
Website: IUCN/SSC Lagomorph Specialist Group

Thylamys venustus (buff-bellied fat-tailed mouse opossum)

New World Marsupial Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Gabriel Martin
Contact: gmartin_ar@yahoo.com 

Red List Authority Coordinator: Leonora Pires Costa
Contact: leonoracosta@yahoo.com

Profile: Download here

Sea Otter

Otter Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Nicole Duplaix
Contact:  +1 503 302 4913   Nicole.Duplaix@oregonstate.edu 

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr Syed Ainul Hussain
Contact:  hussain@wii.gov.in

Publication:
Otters: An Action Plan for their Conservation
Newsletter: Otter SG Bulletin; Asian Otter Newletter
Mailing list: OSG Listserv
Profile: Download now
Website:IUCN/SSC Otter Specialist Group

Sunda pangolin (Manis javanica)

Pangolin Specialist Group

Co-chairs: Jonathan E. M. Baillie and Daniel W. Challender

Contact: Jonathan E. M. Baillie, Jonathan.Baillie@zsl.org 
               Daniel W. Challender, dc344@kent.ac.uk  

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr Carly Waterman; carly.waterman@zsl.org

Website: www.PangolinSG.org

 

Peccary

Peccary Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Mariana Altrichter and Harald Beck
Contact:
Mariana Altrichter +1 909 389 0474 , marianaalt@msn.com
Harald Beck  +1 410 704 3125 ,  hbeck@towson.edu

Red List Authority Coordinator
:
 Dr Arnaud Desbiez
Contact: adesbiez@hotmail.com

Publication:
Pigs, Peccaries, and Hippos: Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan
Newsletter: Suiform Soundings
Mailing list: OSG Listserv
Project: Download here
Website: IUCN/SSC Peccaries Specialist Group

Seals

Pinniped Specialist Group (seals and walruses)

Chair Dr Kit Kovacs
Contact kit.kovacs@npolar.no

Red List Authority Coordinator:
Dr Lloyd Lowry
Contact: llowry@hawaii.rr.com

Profile: Download here

Manatee

Sirenian Specialist Group (dugongs and manatees)

Co-chairs: Prof. Helene Marsh and Dr Benjamin Morales-Vela
Contact: +61 (7) 4781 5802 helene.marsh@jcu.edu.au ; +52 (983) 216 666 bmorales@ecosur.mx

Red List Authority Coordinator:
Ivan Lawler
Contact: Ivan.Lawler@environment.gov.au

Publication:

Dugong: Status Report and Action Plans for Countries and Territories
Newsletters: Sirenews
Profile: Download here
Webstie: http://www.locus-nq.net/iucnssg/

Mongoose

Small Carnivore Specialist Group

Co-chairs: Jan Schipper and José F. González-Maya
Contact: jan@sierra2sea.org and jfgonzalezmaya@gmail.com

Red List Authority Coordinator:
Dr Will Duckworth
Contact: willduckworthdprk@yahoo.com

Publication:
Small Carnivore Conservation (since 1989, current issue Vol. 41)
Profile: Download here
Website: IUCN SCC Small Carnivores Specialist Group

Hispaniolan Hutia (Plagiodontia aedium)

Small Mammal Specialist Group

Co-Chairs: Dr Thomas Lacher and Dr Richard Young
Contact:
Dr Thomas Lacher; telacher@nature.tamu.edu, +1-979-845-5750
Dr Richard Young; +44 (0) 1225 386 871  richard.young@durrell.org

Red List Authority Coordinator: Dr Giovanni Amori
Contact: giovanni.amori@uniroma1.it
Profile: Download here
Website: http://www.small-mammals.org/

Vicugna vicugna, one of the native South American camelids. High in the Andes, Reserva Nacional de Pampa Galleras.

South American Camelid Specialist Group (guanacos and vicuñas)

Chair: Dr Gabriela Lichtenstein
Contact: lichtenstein.g@gmail.com , Tel/fax (54 11) 4782-7251 / 4783-655

Red List Authority Coordinator:
Benito Gonzalez
Contactbagonzal@uc.cl 

Newsletter: GECS Newsletter
Publication:
South American Camelids: An Action Plan for their Conservation
Profile: Download here
Website: IUCN/SSC Camelids Specialist Group

Tapirs

Tapir Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Patricia Medici
Contact: +55 67 3344 0240 (phone), +55 67 9965 6960 (cell phone)  epmedici@uol.com.br ; medici@ipe.org.br ; patricia.medici (Skype)

Red List Authority Coordinator:
Mr Alan Shoemaker
Contact: sshoe@mindspring.com


Newsletter (online):
Tapir Conservation

Publications:
Action Plans
Malayan Tapir Action Plan (2003) (English only)
Mountain Tapir Action Plan (2004) (English and Spanish)
Baird's Tapir Action Plan (2005) (English and Spanish)
Lowland Tapir Action Plan (2007) (English, Spanish and Portuguese)
Tapirs: Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan (1997)

Manuals, Guidelines, Protocols, Press Kit etc.

Virtual Library

Profile: Download here

Website: IUCN / SSC Tapir Specialist Group

Common Warthog

Wild Pig Specialist Group

Chair: Dr Erik Meijaard
Contact: emeijaard@gmail.com

Red List Authority Coordinator:
Dr Kristin Leus

Contact: kristin@cbsgeurope.eu  

Publication: 
Pigs, Peccaries, and Hippos: Status Survey and Conservation Action Plan
Newsletter: Suiform Soundings
Mailing list: OSG Listserv
Website: IUCN SSC Wild Pig Specialist Group

Follow us

Facebook Flickr Twitter Youtube

The Latest Amazing Species

search for species
  • IUCN Red List Logo
Help make a difference!
  • Donate to IUCN Red List