Announcing New National Activators for IUCN CEC

CEC has created a new element in our global governance structure: CEC National Activators. These movers-and-shakers will enhance Commission impact in their countries and regions. CEC members who have accepted this volunteer position as of October 2009 are listed here. Welcome!

World map with IUCN Statutory regions

The Commission on Education and Communication (CEC) is one of six IUCN Commissions and is made up of a network of specialists in environmental communication, education and learning from governments, governmental institutions, NGOs, academic institutions and from the private sector. CEC seeks to make IUCN and our community more effective at reaching goals through leading edge learning, change and knowledge management processes. 

In order to have more impact at the national and regional level, CEC has created a new element in our global governance structure: CEC National Activators

National focal points working with regional chairs

As national focal points, CEC National Activators will work closely with the CEC Regional Vice-Chairs. As volunteer members of CEC, they will lead, innovate and collaborate in the three broadly defined areas in our mandate:

  • Facilitating the co-creation of sustainable solutions;
  • Creating strategic communication platforms;
  • Leveraging new learning for professional development. National Activators will contribute to CEC commitments to delivering results to the IUCN 2009-2012 programme of work.

They also will promote longstanding CEC commitments to advancing the international Conventions through Communication, Education, Participation and Awareness (CEPA); developing the World Conservation Learning Network (WCLN); and supporting the United Nations Decade of Education for Sustainable Development (UNDESD).

As of 12 October 2009, the following CEC members have accepted the invitation by Keith Wheeler, CEC Chair, to serve as National Activators.

South America
Argentina — Marta Andelman
Bolivia  — Mery Ruth Mariaca
Brazil  — Suzana Padua
Chile  — Gabriela Omegna
Colombia  — Olga Bermudez
Ecuador  — Cecilia Amaluisa
Perú  — M. Sofia Brutton
Uruguay  — Hernán Sorhuet
Venezuela  — Alejandro Alvarez I.

Meso America
Costa Rica  — Alicia Jiménez
Cuba  — Martha Roque Molina
Mexico  — Maria Guadalupe Garibay
Nicaragua  — Maria Teresa Mariscal
Rep. Dominicana  — Faustina Varela

North America
Canada  — Monique Trudel
USA  — Brian Day

West and Central Africa
Benin  — Joséa Dossou-Bodjrenou
Cameroon  — Jonas Kemajou Syapze
Congo D.R. — Naum Butoto
Gambia  — Abdou Khadire Diop
Ghana  — Ken Kinney
Ginea  — Selly Camara
Guinea-Bissau  — Nicolau Mendes
Mali  — Alassane Ballo
Senegal  — Abdou Khadire Diop
Sierra Leone  — Joseph Rahall
Togo  — Tsivanyo Mensah Todzro

East Asia
Japan  — Brendan Barrett

Additional names will be announced as appointments are confirmed. A directory with contact details will be available soon on the CEC website

For more information, contact


Go to top