Media

Key issues

“Managing nature will play a key role in our ability to cope with the changing climate and reduce emissions,” says Julia Marton-Lefèvre, Director General of IUCN. “A massive investment in nature, in the way we protect it, manage it and govern it will take us from where we are today to a low carbon economy of the future.

“Managing and conserving ecosystems can increase resilience and reduce the vulnerability of people to the impacts of climate change,” says Head of IUCN’s Ecosystem Management Programme, Neville Ash. “Ecosystem-based adaptation to climate change should be included in a post-2012 adaptation framework.”

Deforestation accounts for 20 per cent of greenhouse gas emissions. “Preventing deforestation and restoring forest areas through REDD can combat climate change in a cost-effective way while generating crucial, additional benefits for indigenous peoples, local communities and biodiversity,” says IUCN’s Director of Environment and Development Stewart Maginnis. “REDD must be an integral part of a future climate deal.”

Press materials and events

Monday 7 December - Opening Statement

Tuesday 8 December,  9.30. press conference: Natural solutions, protected areas and climate change.

Thursday 10 December, 09:30 press conference: Ocean Acidification, The Facts. Press release and report.
 
Friday 11 December, 11:30 - press conference: Ecosystem based adaptation, Nature’s solution for climate change impact. Press release and case studies.

Friday 11 December
, afternoon - press trip, ‘Copenhagen kids lowering CO₂ emissions’.

Monday 14 December
, 11:30 - press conference, Climate change impacts on species - it's more than just the polar bear. Press release and case studies.

Tuesday 15 December
09:30 - press conference, the costs of REDD. Press release and report.

Tuesday 15 December 16:00 - press release, connect2earth 2009 prize award.

Wednesday 16 December 19:00 - Photo opportunity, 'Copenhagen Zoo keeps elephants light on during earth hour' at Copenhagen Zoo.

Wednesday 16 and Thursday 17 December - daily media brief sent to registered press

Thursday 17 December 14:20 - Photo opportunity, '100 women leaders agents of CChange' by Global Gender Climate Alliance, room Liva Weel.

Friday 18 December
- Closing Statement.

All press conferences will be held in room Asger Jorn, Hall H, Bella Center
 

Spokespersons and media team

Spokespersons

Ninni Ikkala, IUCN’s Climate Change Coordinator, ninni.ikkala@iucn.org 
Claire Parker, Senior Climate Change Policy Consultant, claire.n.parker@btopenworld.com  

Stewart Maginnis, IUCN’s Director of Environment and Development, stewart.maginnis@iucn.org  (for REDD)

Carole Saint-Laurent IUCN Senior Forest Policy Advisor, carsaint@bellnet.ca  (for REDD)

Neville Ash IUCN’s Head of Ecosystem Based Management Programme ashn@iucn.org  (for ecosystem-based adaptation)

Carl Gustaf Lundin, head of IUCN’s Marine Programme carl.lundin@iucn.org  (for oceans)

Mark Smith, Head of IUCN's Water Programme mark.smith@iucn.org (for water)

Annelie Fincke, IUCN Social Policy annelie.fincke@iucn.org  (for indigenous peoples)

Wendy Foden, IUCN Species Programme wendy.foden@iucn.org  (for species)


Media Team

Brian Thomson, Media Relations Manager , m +41 79 721 8326, e brian.thomson@iucn.org

Pia Drzewinski, Media Relations Officer, m +41 76 505 8865, e pia.drzewinski@iucn.org