World Heritage

Natural World Heritage sites include iconic places such as the Great Barrier Reef, Yellowstone, the Galápagos Islands and Kilimanjaro, and are recognised as the world's most significant protected areas.


Section Slider

  • In the spotlight:

    IUCN World Heritage Outlook 2 launched at COP23

    IUCN's Director General Inger Andersen launched the IUCN World Heritage Outlook 2 in Bonn. The report reveals that  climate change is the fastest growing to natural World Heritage and shows for the first time whether the conservation prospects of sites are improving or deteriorating, with all site assessments available on

  • In the spotlight:

    Facts on natural World Heritage

    Did you know that, together, the 241 natural sites on the World Heritage List cover an area about the size of India? Explore the interactive map and get the facts about the natural wonders of the world.

  • In the spotlight:

    New natural World Heritage sites

    Discover the natural wonders that were added on the World Heritage List in 2017 through our multimedia feature

  • In the spotlight:

    Building knowledge and capacity

    IUCN undertakes initiatives and projects to enhance the effectiveness of the World Heritage Convention and support its leadership role.

Latest news

Latest publications

Go to top